What is this blog about?

What is this blog about?

I am a political philosopher. My 'political philosophy' is a form of 'liberal egalitarianism.' So in this blog I reflect on various issues in political philosophy and politics (especially Canadian and American politics) from a liberal egalitarian perspective.

If you are curious about what I mean by 'liberal egalitarianism,' my views are strongly influenced by the conception of justice advanced by John Rawls. (So I sometimes refer to myself as a 'Rawlsian,' even though I disagree with Rawls on some matters.)

Astonishingly, I am paid to write and teach moral and political philosophy. I somehow manage to do this despite my akratic nature. Here is my faculty profile.

Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Philosophers Charles Taylor and Jürgen Habermas are Kluge Prize Winners for 2015

Canadian philosopher Charles Taylor and German philosopher Jürgen Habermas are the recipients of the 2015 Kluge Prize.

[Charles Taylor]
[Jürgen Habermas]

What is the Kluge Prize?  It is an award given by the John W. Kluge Center at the Library of Congress:  
"The Kluge Prize celebrates the importance of the study of humanity and recognizes individuals whose outstanding scholarship in the humanities and social sciences has shaped both public affairs and civil society" (from here).

No comments:

Post a Comment